FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Traditional Hard Drive vs. SSD

Post Date: 2012-04-26

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
zhoeffner View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote zhoeffner Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Traditional Hard Drive vs. SSD
    Posted: 26 Apr 2012 at 4:11pm
Hello everyone!

I have been doing some extensive research, and after seeing an ad in a magazine was interested in what Digital Storm had to offer. After doing some looking around on the site, I (think) I have finally decided that the xm15 laptop would be good as I am still a student that needs a portable computer with decent battery life.

The only thing I am stuck going back and forth on is the primary storage. I am having difficulty deciding whether the speed and more importantly supposed power efficiency of the 120GB SSD is worth the extra $142. So the question is... does anyone have experience with one of these with an SSD, and does it actually improve the battery life enough over a traditional drive to be worth considering spending the extra $142?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, and thanks in advance!
BF3Addict View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote BF3Addict Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 26 Apr 2012 at 4:30pm
Typical SSD's draw about 1.5-2.5W of power.  Typical HD's will draw about 4-7W.  Power consumption is directly related to battery life, but how much of that power draw from the storage (SSD or HD) compared to the total power draw of the system is what will determine your total battery drain.

I can only guess at what this means in real terms, but if you assume that you save 5% on total power draw by using the SSD then if you see five hours with the HD then you would see an increase of about 15 minutes with the SSD.  Granted there are a lot of assumptions here, but I think it gives you a feel for how it works.