FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Seeking Advice For New Notebook

Post Date: 2008-10-19

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
M.H. View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote M.H. Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Seeking Advice For New Notebook
    Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 9:44pm
I heard of this site during a chat through a customer at work. I have some fair knowledge on computers and software, but I want opinions on the matter from people who are certainly knowledgeable on this matter.

I have never had a pure gaming computer, I have always been stuck with the family computer. Times have changed, I'm done school and have moved out. I have a fairly modest price range of around $1500 and at the same time want to try and keep it under $2000. I am interested in a gaming Notebook as I want something portable, yet also to use for post-secondary education.

I am interested in the 15" Power and Value model. The price range suits my needs, and seems like it could fulfill my gaming habits. I am looking at the default specs for it, but I am not entirely sure what might be worth upgrading and what I can afford to downgrade to possibly save some money if it's worth it.

This is what I see right now:

Chassis: Value and Power (Model: D2096) (Weight: 6.5LBS)
Display: 15.4 inch WSXGA+ with Enhanced Glossy Surface (Resolution: 1680 x 1050)
Exterior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.40GHz (1066MHz FSB) (3MB Cache)
System Memory: 2GB DDR2 at 667MHz
Inputs: 3 USB 2.0 Ports / Gigabit Ethernet LAN / V.92 Modem / 3-in-1 Card Reader
Main Storage: 160GB (5400 RPM) (8MB Cache) (SATA Laptop Hard Drive)
Extra Storage: - No Thanks
Raid Options: - No Thanks
Optical Drive: DVD±R/RW/CD-R/RW (DVD Writer 8x / CD-Writer)
Wireless Access: 802.11 A/B/G/N Wireless LAN Module
Features: Centrino 2 Montevina Platform / Integrated Video Camera / Fingerprint Reader / Bluetooth