Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
widdlecat View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Online Status: Offline
  Quote widdlecat Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Sound card info
    Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 7:08pm
By request I have written this brief summary. DSO, please post where you see fit.

Disclaimer: My opinions stated here are not based upon direct usage, but rather my experience with the various components that the manufacturers utilise in the production of these audio cards. I graduated from college at age 19 with honors in Physics. My experience in the audio industry includes handcrafting and designing exotic high end audio transducers (speakers), acting as audio consultant for audio retailers, custom pro installation of sound systems, as well as reviewing music and high end audio components.

First, I'd like to point out the pros, cons and primary features of the sound cards that DSO provides. I will then follow up with my opinions of how each card ranks for specific customer requirements.

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer

Pros: cheapest of the three sound cards
         offers X-Fi and EAX HD (5.0)
         utilises a cirrus logic DAC (high quality) and wolfson microelectronics (think iPod and PSP) ADC

Cons: Not compatible with all mobos. Although Creative states that it's an issue with nVidia chipsets and poor driver support on their part, non-nVidia chipsets have some of the same issues. IE. crackling and other distortion.
          X-Fi crystaliser. Many swear by it, but all it does is take feedback samplings and does a summation based upon an extrapolation program. That is, it takes a lot of unnecessary processing power to create coloration to the sound. It can be toggled off, however. They do have 2MB of Xram to mitigate the processing strain to be fair.
          Utilises EMU20K1 software DSP (mini cpu). Their software is part of the incompatibility issues some people experience.