Post Date: 2010-12-29

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Tidgxor View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

The Kokopelli kid
Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Tidgxor Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Dual Monitor / GPU Temps Question
    Posted: 29 Dec 2010 at 4:07pm
Hello all,

I'm currently in the process of "bettering" my monitor setup at home. For a few years now, I had been using a 1650x1080 single monitor. I just recently purchased a 1920x1200 monitor. (The ultimate goal here is to have 2, 24" 1920x1200 monitors).

I have SLI GTX 580's and I only game on one monitor.

I have a question, as not only is this my first time ever having SLI, its my first time having two monitors at home and being concerned about temperatures.

Before I upgraded to the two monitors, my 580s would idle around 32-38C with just the single 1680x1050 monitor (I think they were incredibly bored). Now that I've plugged in the new 1920x1200 monitor, alongside the older 1680x1050, the temperatures on the top card have gone from around 34C idle, to 58C idle. The bottom card has moved up to around 37/38C idle.

I know that using two monitors, at two different resolutions is taxing on a GPU, but both GPUs are reporting 0% usage in afterburner, so I believe this is true idle.

I tested it, by checking just using the old monitor, temps went back down, and by just the new monitor, where temps were still higher, but not nearly the high 50's. I have not had a chance to test any load temperatures.

Is that kind of jump (37 to 58C (top), and 32 to 37C (bottom)) to be expected just from adding a second monitor?

Edited by Tidgxor - 29 Dec 2010 at 4:09pm
DST4ME View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

Quote DST4ME Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 29 Dec 2010 at 4:12pm