Post Date: 2011-12-20

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Deadboltt View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Deadboltt Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: WoW Cataclysm
    Posted: 20 Dec 2011 at 10:43pm
  Hi, my names Chris and I'm new to DS and a couple of my friends convinced me to go back to playing World of Warcraft cataclysm and I was wondering what kind of computer I need or should buy to run that game with max frames on ultra no problem.  Ultra isn't necessary but you get the point.

I only see myself playing this game and maybe star wars a shot but at least for WoW I don't know much about computers and could use some advice! Thanks!!

jmaster299 View Drop Down

Quote jmaster299 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 20 Dec 2011 at 11:15pm
WoW has always been on the low end in terms of hardware requirements in order to max out settings with excellent frame rates. The biggest thing that will affect your hardware requirements is the resolution of the monitor you will be playing on.

Even for WoW there is a big difference between playing at 1680x1050 compared to something like 2560x1440. The larger the resolution the more/better hardware is required to support it.

For example my 22" monitor has a resolution of 1680x1050. I have a custom system but in terms of CPU and GPU my system is equal to an ODE Lvl 1. My GPU has more RAM but for WoW that does not matter as it won't max it out. I play with Ultra settings with no issues.