FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Waiting for my Apollo... is my build ok?

Post Date: 2015-01-30

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
engineermarc View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote engineermarc Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Waiting for my Apollo... is my build ok?
    Posted: 30 Jan 2015 at 7:23am
Hey guys, I'm new to all of this (gaming pc's, Digital Storm, and forums, haha), so I really appreciate your feedback.

I decided to order my first custom pc from DS because they had the best reviews. I have never built or tampered with a PC, so the most I know about any components is what I read in reviews. I ordered the Apollo, Level 3, and didn't really change any components. I called DS before ordering to ask if they recommended upgrading anything specific and the nice lady said that it was more than enough. After ordering, I have been so excited that I can't stop browsing this forum. What I noticed is that most buyers use 2 graphics cards in SLI instead of the one gtx980 4g that I ordered.

1) Do you think my build is sufficient for high settings on 1080p with decent frame rates?

2) How difficult is it to upgrade to another gtx980 in sli in the future (if i did upgrade, do i need to change anything else below)

This is what I ordered:

Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Digital Storm Apollo
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0 GHz (Codename Devils Canyon) (Unlocked CPU) (Quad Core)
Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z97X-SLI (Intel Z97 Chipset)
System Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz Digital Storm Certified Performance Series (Highly Recommended) (Hand Tested)
Power Supply: 750W Corsair CX750M
Expansion Bay: - No Thanks
Optical Drive: DVD-R/RW/CD-R/RW (DVD Writer 24x / CD-Writer 48x)
Storage Set 1: 1x SSD (120GB Samsung 840 EVO)
Storage Set 2: 1x Storage (1TB Seagate)
Storage Set 3: - No Thanks
RAID Config: - No Thanks