FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Switching to PC - What to get!

Post Date: 2015-01-29

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
pjnormz View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote pjnormz Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Switching to PC - What to get!
    Posted: 29 Jan 2015 at 3:36am
So, I'm rather new to the PC world having lived on Macs since the 80s. However I'm ready for the jump after much research (and hands on experience).

My current 2010 Mac Pro runs off a similar drive configuration with a Nvidia 680 card.

Due to my lack of experience with PCs, I want to make sure I'm not 'overdoing' it just to have the latest tech. I can always upgrade later if necessary. That being said, I also don't want to purchase something that will need to be upgraded rather quickly just to save a few bucks.

Any help/criticism is much appreciated...

Budget:
$5k-$7500

Expectations:
Faster render times, smooth operation with native 4k footage, and ability to handle 3D renders, etc.

Usage:
Post Production (editing, color correction, 3D, adobe suite, Cinema 4d, resolve),

Special Needs:
Help understanding what i'm buying (Lol)

Saved Ticket #: 1140055

Specifications:

Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Hailstorm II Edition
Exterior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Trim Accents: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: 1x (Intel Xeon 8-Core E5-2687W 3.10GHz (20MB Cache)
Motherboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS (Intel X79 Chipset) (Workstation Class)
System Memory: 32GB DDR3 1866MHz Corsair Vengeance Pro (High-Performance)
Power Supply: 1050W Corsair HX1050
Expansion Bay: Dual Solid State Hard Drive Hot Swap Bay
Optical Drive: Blu-Ray & DVD Writer/Reader (Burn + Play Blu-Ray & DVDs) (12x BD-R)
Storage Set 1: 1x SSD (256GB Samsung 850 PRO)
Storage Set 2: 2x SSD (512GB Samsung 850 PRO)
Storage Set 3: 1x Storage (2TB Western Digital - Enterprise Edition)