Post Date: 2015-03-04

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Watata View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Watata Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Setting up your new PC
    Posted: 04 Mar 2015 at 11:04am
So I apologize for blowing up the forums as of lately but, I am new to serious PC gaming and having just ordered I would like reccomendations on the Day 1 set-up to optimize my PC's security, storage, and settings. For instance reccomendations on what programs to install and what drive to install them on and just other day one set-up procedures. I'm sure a lot of you when you get a new PC go through a process of setting it up for play and I guess I am just looking for the run-down on what you do to get it set up for gaming. I plan on reinstalling WoW, LoL, and downloading steam. As for apps I will only really be using spotify, Skype, and possibly Ventrilo/teamspeak/cursevoice. As for web browsers I usually run chrome but I am not extremely knowledgable if that is the correct browser to run on Windows 8 and if there is anything I could uninstall on setup that might be unnecessary to have in the first place. As for virus protection I planned on using either AVG, or Avast seeing as how they're free to use and effective to my experience. I ordered the Vanquish II level 4 and a Asus 24 inch 248 Series (Widescreen) (Black) (2ms Response Time) (LED Backlight) Monitor with the CM Storm Devastator Bundle (Gaming Keyboard & Gaming Mouse. Sorry if that is a lot to ask but, if anyone could shed some light or give me some suggestions it would be greatly appreciated as I am a noob to PC gaming for the most part :p thank you ahead of time.
Pacesetter View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote Pacesetter Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 04 Mar 2015 at 11:27am
for me: