FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

PCI Express 3.0 vs. PCI Express 2.0

Post Date: 2014-10-31

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Torchstone View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Torchstone Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: PCI Express 3.0 vs. PCI Express 2.0
    Posted: 31 Oct 2014 at 2:02pm
First of all this is my first post and am happy to be here and excited to be a part of the DS community.

I have a question that is more to do with learning about my graphics card and the PCI 3.0 tech and less about finding a work around which I can figure out on my own.

Let me say that I am coming from an old AGP rig, so though I follow tech news closely, I have zero experience with the newer tech. (FYI for the kids out there, AGP is not a movie about aliens and/or predators.)

So let's get to it.  I have an ASUS Z97M-PLUS mobo with an AMD Radeon (Sapphire) R7 260X. The mobo includes 1 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (x16 mode, gray), 1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode, black), 2 x PCI
I have a PCI (not PCIe) wifi card (
Rosewill RNX-N150PC) that I want to install in my new machine but there is no room due to the size of the v-card. It completely covers one PCI slot and covers enough of the second one to make it impossible to use.  I fully expected the former slot to be inaccessible but was planning to use the latter when I ordered my rig.

So know I am wondering if I could just move the GPU to the second PCIe slot (that I am going to eventually use for a Crossfire config).
I know I can just get a USB wifi adapter as a workaround, but again I am a curious one.

The mobo manual notes: "In single VGA card mode, use the PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16_1 (gray) for a PCI Express x16 graphics card to get better performance."