Post Date: 2012-03-25

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Simon View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Simon Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Opinions on my new system
    Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 1:56pm
Hello everyone! This is my first time to purchase from DS. I had previously bought from ----------- , and WOW... Thye're a horrible company. I didn't think it could be that bad, the reviews on them that is, but it most definately was! So anyways this PC needs to be able to render out HD videos mostly with 3D modeling here and there. I will be running programs such as Sony Vegas Pro 11, Adobe's photoshop, and dreamweaver. I would also like to run games maxed out on my 24 inch SCeptre E246W monitor at a 1920 x 1080 res. The games I will be running are Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Battlefield 3, Killing Floor, Batman Arkham City and Asylum, and Minecraft.
This is the config I made 668360. The budget I have is set at $3700
Any help is much appreciated. I would also love to have this computer last 3-4 years till I need to upgrade the GPU.

[EDIT: Competitor's name removed - Alex]

Edited by Alex - 25 Mar 2012 at 3:37pm
FrankW View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote FrankW Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 2:43pm
Hi Simon,

That is not a bad system.
1. You don't need the 1200w PS for this system. The 1050HX will do the job. You can't add a third GPU to this system so the 1050HX is the way to go.

2. Change the SSD to the Intel 520. You might even consider the 520 180Gb.

Here is a system I would consider for your system. It is built on the X79 platform. I put in the 580 3Gb GPUs but the new 680 2Gb would be a good choice. Although the 3Gb of Vram may be beneficial for your work.

I put in the 1200w PS so if in the future you move up to a 2550 monitor you can add a third GPU.

Frank

Configuration: 668372 Cost: $3692

Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Cooler Master 942 HAF X