Post Date: 2014-10-20

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
CamTheMan View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote CamTheMan Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Nvidia 980M Question
    Posted: 20 Oct 2014 at 1:07pm
Already put this in General Discussion but this seems to be a better place for it. Hopefully not breaking any rules.

Rig: Level III Digital Storm Krypton
CPU: Intel Core i7 4810MQ (Quad Core, 6Mb cache, can OC to 3.80 Ghz)
GPU: Nvidia Geforce 880M 8G

I did research and came up with more questions than answers. I'm a computer noob so please bear with me.

1.) Is the 980M for sale yet? I see preorders for it on DS but have also found articles saying it was released earlier in October.

2.) If the 980M is out, would it be worth it to pick up?

3.) If I do pick up a 980M how difficult would it be to replace it myself? (Best way to learn is to do, right?)

Finally

4.) Does DS get some sort of deal through Nvidia on the GPUs they use? If they do then I assume it would be cheaper over buying it myself.

Any help is appreciated, I'm glad I went with DS.
Interests: Orc slaying, Sith tossing and other nerdy endeavors
bprat22 View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

DigitalStorm East -- (Unofficially!)
Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote bprat22 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 20 Oct 2014 at 2:32pm
Some of these questions DS would have to answer.

The 980m appears to be about 20-40% better frames than the 880m. Whether it's worth the money depends on your graphics needs. Laptop gpu can be expensive.

The gpu is relatively easy to change. I would get some new thermal paste for the new install. The bottom panel comes off, then the fan and heatsink/pipes are removed. Then the gpu. I haven't done it on a laptop but seems very doable.

Hope this helps.
CamTheMan View Drop Down

Quote CamTheMan Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 20 Oct 2014 at 3:05pm
Thank you sir!