Posted: 27 Jan 2015 at 5:04pm
Budget:
[$4000]

Expectations:
[I want this computer to run popular PC games.]

Usage:
[PC Gaming/General Use]

Hello.

I'm new to the world of PC Gaming. I was going to build my own, until I realized that I'm not a technician and have very little knowledge about computers.

However, I want to buy one, but I'm not sure if the parts I have selected are compatible, or would work well together.

I've been eyeballing the Bolt II, and am going to purchase it soon within a few months. However, I'm hesitant because I don't know if the customized options I chose with it are compatible together. Here's a rundown of the specs I chose with the Bolt II.

CPU:Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0 GHz (Will be overclocking to 4.4 GHz)
GPU: 1x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4GB (Includes PhysX)
Motherboard: ASUS Z97I-PLUS (Intel Z97 Chipset) (Mini-ITX)
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1866MHz Corsair Dominator Platinum DHX
Storage Set 1: 1x SSD (1TB Samsung 850 PRO)
Storage Set 2: 1x Storage (3TB Seagate)
Cooling System: 240mm Radiator Liquid CPU Cooler
Power Supply: 700W Digital Storm Bolt II Edition
Chassis Fan: Corsair Air Series SP120 Fans (2x 120mm)

So, would these parts be compatible with each other? Would I need to upgrade or downgrade anything?

Thanks.
michaeljhuman View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote michaeljhuman Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 27 Jan 2015 at 6:40pm

If using a 1080p monitor, you won't need a $4000 budget

The Bolt, level 3 is very nice.

The 4790k is a perfect gaming CPU due to it's high speed. The 980 is one of the best GPUs on the market

If you are thinking of a 4k monitor, my recommendations might change to an SLI setup with two 980s

"The other day, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. What an elephant was doing in my pajamas, I will never know"
Nirvash1994 View Drop Down

Quote Nirvash1994 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 27 Jan 2015 at 7:11pm
Thank you.