FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New Laptop Config. Inputs please!

Post Date: 2015-05-06

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Diehard44501 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Diehard44501 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: New Laptop Config. Inputs please!
    Posted: 06 May 2015 at 6:34am
Hi everyone. This is my first time purchasing a gaming/customizable laptop and I would like any and all input and advice. Pricing was the main reason I avoided doing this because of school but after having problems with brand name laptops like hp, Toshiba, acer, etc. I decided to go with this option. I have a nice desktop right now but am in need for a laptop for portability. I do light/casual gaming like League of Legends once per day, Stronghold, etc.but mostly videos and school work. In all honesty, I just want a laptop that will last me 5+years, that's reliable and that I can trust. Budget wise, I really would like to stay below $2,000 I chose the Krypton laptop because it was the lest costly with a built-in optical drive. Here are the specs & configs:

Chassis Model: Digital Storm Krypton 17.3 Inch Laptop (Model: S:8298)

Display: 17.3 Inch (16:9) (Resolution: 1920 x 1080) (Anti-glare) LED-Backlit Display
Processor: Intel Core i7 4710MQ (Up to 3.50Ghz) (Quad Core) (6MB Cache)
Thermal Compound: Premium CPU and GPU Thermal Compound (Reduces Thermal & Laptop Noise)
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Storage Drive 1: 128GB Solid State - Samsung 850 PRO
Storage Drive 2: - No Thanks
Optical Drive: DVD/CD 8x Multi-Drive (Writes and Reads DVDs, CDs)
Wireless Card: 802.11 B/G/N Wireless LAN Module + Bluetooth
Graphics Card(s): NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 6GB with NVIDIA Battery Boost + NVIDIA Optimus
Windows OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (64-Bit Edition)

Recovery Tools: Windows Recovery Toolkit (Bundled with Windows CD)