FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New Config Help for inexperienced gamer

Post Date: 2014-04-08

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
m303803 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote m303803 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: New Config Help for inexperienced gamer
    Posted: 08 Apr 2014 at 2:35pm

Hello, I am planning to purchase a gaming computer in the next 1-3 months. The only games I really plan to play on it would be flight simulators (FSX, Xplane, Prepar3d).  I would also use it to browse the web and participate in online flying. I am not all that tech savvy however I am a degreed mechanical engineer and am not intimidated by technology and making informed decisions when Ive done my homework on specific tech topics. I just dont usually spend that much time tinkering with things once something is set up and working for me. I really would like to purchase a computer that would run super awesome for flight sims, up high on most or all settings, weather, etc. Im also planning to build my own cockpit in my cellar and am researching pros and cons to going with a 3 television set up (42+ each) or projector based w/ a curved screen for immersion experience purposes. Looking for some insight and suggestions from this forum. I am 99% sold on the DS product line based on recommendations from friends, but I am not really sure which way I should go and since I am 90% flight sim gaming maybe you guys know which way I should lean. Also Ive read that for 3 screen setups there may be specific video card considerations, was looking for some insight there as well if possible. Hope to hear from you soon and looking forward to the Digital Storm experience !

Budget is not really an issue, but I would start being unable to hide the true cost of this (computer + monitors or projector/screen) if it were in excess of say $4000.

danjw1 View Drop Down