FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Long Time Gamer in Search of Advice

Post Date: 2015-04-11

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
IHateKate View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote IHateKate Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Long Time Gamer in Search of Advice
    Posted: 11 Apr 2015 at 1:26am
I have extensively researched about buying a new gaming PC, but alas, some information still eludes me. Any help with the following questions would be quite helpful. Although I've been gaming since the original Prince of Persia for Mac in 1992 that came on 5 floppy discs, I've always been more of a plug and play type person, only knowing enough to replace ram, GPU, and power supply's.

1) Motherboards- What is the difference between the different kinds? (ex. Z97 vs. X99) In terms of what each is capable of.

2) SSD's- I understand the concept of SSD's but what size is reasonable?

3) Processors- I read a lot of reviews with people saying "Oh that's more of a workstation processor, not a gaming one." I have no idea how to tell the difference or what the difference actually is.

4) Lastly I'm trying to find a "build" that's right for me. I can play around with builds but honestly I don't know if my video card is too advanced for the rest of my components, or if I'm going too large on processor or ram, or motherboard, and not going big enough on other things. Basically I would like to run League of Legends or World of Warcraft on max graphics on my main monitor, and on my 2nd monitor stream what I am playing on Twitch. Also would like to be able to clip game footage together but if that's too much then I can drop that. Budget is no issue for me.

I appreciate the time to read this and any advice you could partake.
Psimon View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Quote Psimon Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 11 Apr 2015 at 6:24am