FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

I'm a Noob with a Headache

Post Date: 2008-04-17

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Andromedan View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Andromedan Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: I'm a Noob with a Headache
    Posted: 17 Apr 2008 at 8:53am

Hello folks,

I have recently become interested in SLI rigs...after waiting about a decade and a half for some decent graphics developments. So, after reading topics, benchmarks and such for endless hours, I finally ended up reading the article of ''rig of the month" on the nVidia website. As a noob, I know next to nothing about building a custom rig with custom liquid cooling. I have tried to read up as much as I can on this topic, but its to much to learn in one go.

What I have learned though is that the 98xx series is not great if you want to get 20+ fps in crysis at 1920x1200 with 4x AA. The thing that struck me in Kelly's article was that he obviously plays at 70+ fps, which I still don't understand.

In light of my confusion, I want to ask for some guidance in the process of planning my custom rig. I would really appreciate any advice or correction. There's some Dutch language in the specs below. I'm Dutch Smile.. crazy.

This is what I have so far:
(I have no idea if the 8800 GTX's run on a 790i in SLI. Don't know how much power everything will consume when clocked. Don't know if the case is good for a high end custom liquid cooling setup. Lots of confusion here.)

processor: Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16Ghz 1333Mhz 6Mb (don't need quad)
Mobo:  Asus Striker II LGA775 nForce 790i Ultra SLI     
RAM:  Corsair XMS3-1600 2Gb DDR3 x2 TW3X2G1600
3D:  3 x eVGA 8800 GTX
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W W0216 99A 12V1~12V4 or 1600W (don't know) 
Case:  Thermaltake Armor Silver aluminium Front, 25 cm Fan, Super Tower     
Sound:  Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
HD:  WD Raptor X 150Gb (probably need some more there)