FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Carbine: Laptop Review (07-2013 Version)

Post Date: 2013-08-12

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Qnarf View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Qnarf Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Carbine: Laptop Review (07-2013 Version)
    Posted: 12 Aug 2013 at 12:57pm
I promised a review, so here it is.

Background
For my profession I am a computer analyst, programmer, and sysadmin, and I have been working in the industry for many years now. For reference (because I will be comparing the new laptop somewhat to them), my current desktop is a quad core i7-3820 OC'd to around 4.2GHz with 16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM, OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, and OC'd NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670. This laptop is replacing a mid-2011 series 13" MacBook Pro which had a dual core i7, 8GB RAM, OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, and Intel graphics 3000.

Why
Why did I want a new laptop? In short, I wanted something I could really game on. My current desktop is a quite capable machine but of course is far from portable. My old laptop was a pretty speedy machine for basic work tasks but the on-board graphics card could only handle simple games. It lagged heavily even on Magic the Gathering 2014 at 1280x800 with no anti-aliasing. So I wanted something that could handle whatever game I threw at it (on high or ultra settings if possible) but also be portable.