FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

$2500 Budget - How Powerful ?

Post Date: 2010-06-06

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
BrianSLA View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote BrianSLA Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: $2500 Budget - How Powerful ?
    Posted: 06 Jun 2010 at 6:18pm
Hi All,

I am probably aiming for around $2500 ( give or take $100 ) for my powerful gaming rig. So far I think this is what I configured .... ticket # 412451

I am not too computer or tech savvy so I do not know how to cut & paste all the specs.

$2553

I am thinking HAF 932, the i7 960  3.2Ghz, the ATI 5970 2GB, the Air Stage 2 Noctua, the upgrade for Zalman Case fans, and a 1000 watt Power supply.

I have a 24 inch Samsung SyncMaster 245t LCD Display ( it was Maximum PC's choice at the time ).

I chose the upgraded case fans because I was hoping it made a difference in how high they can overclock it. BUT if it is way too loud like a loud weed whacker I might reconsider.

I do use Logitech G-35 Headsets almost all the time.

I play a lot of FPS like Crysis and Modern Warfare 2. I like shooters and like to make it as max res and beautiful as I can get with whatever I can get with the specs I have.

THANKS for any replies.
DST4ME View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote DST4ME Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 06 Jun 2010 at 6:36pm
some of the parts are not good choices so you will see them changed in my config, once you see something changed, even if its a lower model, understand it was changed because it offered the same performance as the higher model so there was no reason to go with the higher, none what so ever.

case fans will have nothing to do with your oc, your oc't temps mainly depend on the chip itself and the cpu cooler you put on it, the upgraded fans are loud, don't bother with them.